Ways Nursing Mom’s Can Boost Their Energy

I have three boys, each a wiry ball of energy! Just one of those bouncing super heros has more energy than I do but when you add them all together-wowee-that’s three times the energy! Triple Trouble! (Did I mention I have three boys? Three bouncing balls of energy? Three sticks of dynamite? Three-oh, I did? Well, okay, I’ll move on then.)

DSC_0134

So what do you do when your energetic kids are super revved about the day and your not so energetic self just wants to pull the covers over your head? I don’t know about you, but if I’ve had a rough night with the baby, I usually down a cup of coffee. It’s my go to- it’s most people’s go to. And it works. For a while, anyway. After about 3 to 4 hours, I start crashing–hard. Like head on collision crashing. Like 8 hours of sleep sounds better than 8,000 dollars crashing. Usually by that point, despite my delirious state, I still have enough brain power to know that I don’t want to risk a second cup otherwise it might transfer through the breastmilk and contribute to another rough night. But all is not lost! There are several other things that we nursing Moms can do to give us that extra boost.

Vitamin B12 and B6:
DSC_0483
These supplements are safe for baby and are not only great for upping your energy level but can also help ward off postpartum depression.

Water:
DSC_0500
I am terrible about keeping up with the recommended water intake  but on those rare days that I do drink enough, I always notice a boost in my energy and milk supply! Double win!

A Quality Vitamin and Probiotic:
DSC_0486
Not only do children generally have more energy than their parents, they also consume what little we do have! Even baby joins in, taking what he needs from our breast milk so that he can grow strong and yes, you guessed it, energetic. Taking a good vitamin/probiotic is super important. A lot of times, we have deficiencies due to poor diet or some other factor (like having three kids back to back). Thankfully, our body is going to take what baby needs whether we have enough to spare or not. But while good for baby, that can sometimes leave us depleted and wan thus the importance of taking a good vitamin!! I take Garden of Life’s Raw Probiotic/vitamin blend.

Honey:
DSC_0478
Many moons ago, before my little energy suckers were born, I used to work at a coffee shop. On the days that I opened, I had to be there very early–around 4:30 am. Instead of drinking coffee, I would put a TBSP of honey under my tongue and let it dissolve. It would give me instant energy. Definitely something to check out if you are trying to avoid caffeine or have reached your daily limit!

Nuts:
DSC_0488
Fatty snacks such as nuts or avocados tend to give nursing Mom’s a nice boost of energy and if eaten in moderation the fat won’t go to your hips!

Sunshine:
DSC_0497
Looking out the window won’t cut it. Put on your shoes and your kid’s shoes and go get you some vitamin D! It will give you some energy (if you don’t spend too much time out there) and might just help your kids sleep better tonight.

Get your Heart Rate Moving:
Untitled design

Most people would recommend exercising to increase energy but who has time for that? Or rather, this Mama doesn’t want to do that! If you aren’t feeling the gym, turn on some music instead. Go grab your kids and have a dance off. I guarantee you that it will get the blood pumping and lift those tired eyes. Guilty music pleasure: Shake it Off by Taylor Swift. 😉

As always, don’t forget that our main source of energy can not be depleted or restored by external means. The Lord is the one that sustains our bodies. He is holding you, me–the whole universe together. Don’t forget to spend some time in prayer and ask him to give your body and soul what it needs to use the day for his glory and the good of your husband and children.

Well, I am off to bask in one of those rare moments that my child wants to sit still and cuddle. Adam, my four year old, just asked me, “Mommy do you want to come watch Caillou with me and cuddle?”

“Yes son, yes I do!”

Blessings!
Grace|HouseWife|BoyMom

5 thoughts on “Ways Nursing Mom’s Can Boost Their Energy

  1. Hi Grace, I had 3 children in less than 3 years myself so I also needed lots of energy. Now I am a Nana to 13 grandkids. I actually specialize in helping people get more energy, but one of your tips was knew to me – like the honey under the tongue. So interesting. Thanks for sharing. Love to you, Amy

    Like

  2. “and if eaten in moderation the fat won’t go to your hips!” —> actually, if they’re good, natural fats, they will never, ever make you fat. Studies have shown that you don’t actually need to limit your good, natural fats. I eat grass fed butter all day with no limit. I’m only losing weight because of it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

