Keep Your Chin Up

​Hey there Mama. I know you’re exhausted. I am too. I mean come on, it’s 4 am! Who wouldn’t be exhausted?? I don’t know why your little angel won’t sleep but I’m pretty sure mine is working on a poop to rival all other poops. 
With this being the fourth time I have been woken up tonight, I was tempted to focus on and despair over the lack of sleep. Thoughts like “What if I turn into a Mombie?” and “If he doesn’t hurry up and poop his pants I may never sleep again” are fighting for front and center. But thankfully and definitely because of the grace of God, I am not completely overwhelmed by those thoughts or by this difficult night. Another thought has been knocking around in my head. And tonight isn’t the first time God has brought it to mind. It’s something the Lord has been showing and reminding me of over and over, tonight being no exception. It’s simple really…rather than thinking about what I don’t have (i.e. a good night’s sleep), I should meditate on what I do have and then find a way to use it for God’s glory right now.  
Tonight I have an opportunity to pray for others. I have the opportunity to bond with my baby through hardship. And I have the opportunity to encourage other Mama’s that also might be struggling to keep their hearts in the right place at this late hour. 
So, keep your chin up, tired Mama, not just because it’s what we do as Moms but because if your chin is up, then your eyes are too…put those weary eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of your faith. 
Blessings! 

Grace 

xooxo

6 thoughts on “Keep Your Chin Up

  1. I know you’ve probably heard it before…but one of biggest encouragements my mom gave me when my kids were young is this, “This too shall pass. It is just a season.” It did help me to know that they will grow up, not graduate with diapers, and hopefully conquer their ABC’s.

    Like

  2. I laughed out loud twice, which I don’t often do while reading. First, my youngest just had her “rival of all poops” this morning and it was unbelievable. Secondly, I’ve never heard of “Mombie” and now have a wonderful new word for what I’m also feeling lately. Moms of young kids unite! 😉 Thanks for the encouragement. You KNOW there are others out there but it’s good to read about again. ❤

    Like

  3. Love how that thought immediately changes your perspective. 🙂 I remember when our twins were little reminding myself that God knew how much sleep I wasn’t getting, and He was fully capable of giving me the physical strength I needed for the next day. Those middle of the night wakings can be exhausting, but they are also a great opportunity for spiritual growth. Great attitude! 🙂 I’m stopping by from the CWB thread today.
    Jen @ Being Confident of This

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sweet, encouraging words. I’m past those middle night cuddles and wake-ups now, but I remember how exhausted I felt. But although I was tired and frazzled, those sweet moments with me, my wee one, and the Lord were precious and I often used them to pray over my little ones or for our friends and family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

