A Graceful Garland

DSC_1236
“Hear, my son, your father’s instruction,
and forsake not your mother’s teaching,
for they are a graceful garland for your head
and pendants for your neck.” -Proverbs 1:8-9

Let us be sure that we are making a “graceful garland” and “pendant” that our children can one day wear. When they eventually reflect on our words of instruction and example will these verses apply? Are we teaching godly truths that they will be able to firmly stand upon? I pray that it may be so.

8 thoughts on “A Graceful Garland

  1. Let’s try this again…. This is such great advice! We need to be careful with our words and speak the truth of God’s words into the minds of our children. I hope scripture comes to mind when my children face temptation or fear!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This passage of scripture was so convicting to me! My children are only 1 and 2 but they start learning at such a young age. If they can learn their colors why not learn some truth about Jesus?? 🙂

    Like

  3. Thank you for sharing this! I’d love for my words to be a “graceful garland” instead of a “cat’o’nine tails” they usually are. I’m still learning!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

