Ideas for your child’s reading list!

“I want to go to the ‘Livery,’ Mama!” my two year old informs me in his sweet sing songy voice. “I wanta go read  sum books!”

Oh how I love to hear these words. And I hear them almost every day! My children love to read. It didn’t happen overnight but it has happened. And just within the past month or so we have started venturing into the land of preschool aged books. We still have our hard back favorites that we regularly visit but both of my boys will now sit still and pay attention to books that are longer and more detailed. I think the longest book we have read thus far is “Go Dog Go” by P.D. Eastman at 64 pages! If you haven’t read it, check it out here. It is definitely a childhood classic.

Recently, we have been checking out books by the author Mo Willems. They are shorter than “Go Dog Go” but have quickly become my favorite stories to read as they are full of humor that adults along with children can appreciate. My favorite is “That Is NOT a Good Idea!”

What are some books that you are currently reading to your children? What are their favorite stories? What are your favorite children’s books? And what are your favorite adult books?

Adam’s Favorite Book: Goodnight Construction Site by Sherri Duskey Rinker and Tom Lichtenheld

Owen’s Favorite Book: Where is Baby’s Mommy by Karen Katz

My Favorite Children’s Book: Pat The Bunny by Dorothy Kunhardt

My Current Favorite Adult Book: The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

I would love to expand our reading list and I’m sure you would too so check out our favorites and leave yours in the comment section below! Stay tuned for an eventual post on how to train your children to sit still and pay attention while reading.

9 thoughts on “Ideas for your child’s reading list!

Leave a Reply

