Food Art for Picky Toddlers

DSC_0805

Hi. Boy Mom here. I have been blessed with two very different, very amazing little boys. They light up my world and are tiny bundles of energy and joy….and picky eating.

There’s Adam–age 2:

DSC_0588

And Owen–age 15 months:

DSC_0939

As a Mother of boys–only boys–I tend to get a lot of advice and warnings from complete strangers. I could easily devote an entire post to that but I’ll save those thoughts for a rainy day (rainy days = longer naps = longer blog posts!). Probably the most conman warning and the one that pertains to today’s topic goes something like this: “Oh my! All boys! Bless your heart, they must eat you out of house and home!” This always makes me laugh. I think to myself “have you ever raised a toddler??” You would think that having boys means having hearty eaters and someday when they are older that will probably be the case but right now the opposite is true. Like most toddlers, whether boy or girl, my boys are picky eaters! Adam much more so than Owen but they both have their foods they wouldn’t touch with a ten foot pole.

There for a while I felt like I was pulling teeth just to get Adam to eat a decent meal. But then ever so often, some weeks more than others, I would turn their meal into a piece of art. A pancake that looks like a bunny rabbit, a strawberry that looks like a mouse etc. Adding this whimsical side to the every day monotony of eating has really helped Adam to look forward to meal times and take more in. Here are some pictures of different meals I have put together for them over the past few weeks. Thanks for stopping by and don’t forget to click the button below to vote for me to be one of the top mommy bloggers.

DSC_0851DSC_0814 DSC_0801 DSC_0784 DSC_0904 DSC_0899 DSC_1002DSC_0808

top mommy blog

9 thoughts on “Food Art for Picky Toddlers

  1. Those are adorable! I bet those boys EAT IT UP when they see your creative art! I was never this creative… You’re such a good mama. ❤

    Like

  2. This is very creative and a good tip for moms. I’d have fun playing with food and taking pictures! I wonder if my parents had done this when I was little, I would have eaten more. I am still picky. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

