Left Alone

A few days ago I went shopping at an outlet mall with my sweet Mother in Law. We had a great time and got some cute stuff for the boys. After we were done, Mom headed home and I decided that I would feed Owen in the (parked) car before doing the same. About 30 seconds after I started nursing Owen, I noticed that a car pulled up in the spot next to me. I didn’t really think anything of it but did notice that the driver got out and walked towards the mall. About 6 minutes later I was done feeding Owen, made a few calls, and got out to buckle him back into his car seat. As I shut his door I noticed movement coming from the car next to me. It startled me because I had thought it was empty. It was not empty. There were three kids (a baby, a 2-3 year old, and a 5-6 year old) sitting ALONE in the backseat. Just to be sure my eyes weren’t playing tricks on me I looked in the front seat again and sure enough–empty. By that time it had been about 10 minutes since the adult had left the vehicle. It was dark out and very cold (in the low 30s). After I was certain they were young kids and were alone in the car I called out to a lady who happened to be walking by and told her the situation. She peeked in the windows and gasped. We both agreed the kids were way too young to be left alone. Another lady walked by and asked what was going on. She was downright angry. At this point it had been about 15 minutes since the adult had left the kids. I was going to call the police but the third lady said there was as security guard at the other end of the mall so I drove over to where he was and told him of the situation. I offered him a ride (it was pretty far) but he said he would walk. Well, he walked incredibly slow and finally showed up just as the children’s Mother or Babysitter arrived. She looked very young so I am guessing babysitter. At this point she had been gone from her kids for 20 minutes and by that time a small crowd had gathered around the car. One of the ladies confronted the girl as she opened her car door. She said, “M’am you left your kids out here all alone in the car, in the cold for 20 minutes! That’s not okay!” but all she said was a haughty “Sorry!” and got in and turned on the car. She couldn’t drive off, however, because the lady had moved to stand in front of her and said she wasn’t moving until the guard took down her license plate number. I don’t know what happened beyond that point. I had to drive off because my car was blocking another vehicle from getting through. I could have driven back around but both boys started hollering and crying so I decided to head home. I hope that they got her license plate number and that the police were informed of what happened because her behavior was very negligent.

Anywho here are a couple of pictures of Owen in the Elephant Bath Towel his “Jomi” (Bailey’s Mom) bought for the boys that day! šŸ™‚

1798600_985589989547_1053352674_n1620873_985590029467_856547118_n

This was Adam’s breakfast this morning. Ham and Egg pie, Cheese Whole Grain Toast, and Strawberries. As you can see he couldn’t wait till I was done taking the picture to snag some strawberries! Mr. Alligator wanted some too. šŸ™‚

1622867_985589590347_92380092_n

 

4 thoughts on “Left Alone

  1. Love the breakfast pic… sneaky alligator! You are such a good momma and a blessing to your children. It’s great to connect with another mommy who blogs and hangs out with her mother-in-law (I thought I was the only one)!

    Like

Leave a Reply

